Shoulder rehab exercises


This is pretty much what my current shoulder rehab programme looks like.

Takes me about 45 mins. At the moment very light weights, 10 – 20 reps x 3 sets per exercise. I am hopping to build up to 3 x 8 reps with a progressively more weight over the next six weeks. At which time I’ll reduce the workouts from three times a week to twice a week to allow more recovery time to compensate for the extra load.

About thegymmonkey

I'm a fitness junkie,interested in injury rehab and get back into competition. View all posts by thegymmonkey

3 responses to “Shoulder rehab exercises

  • Chris Melton

    Great video – love the music. How’s your shoulder responding to these exercises so far? How long have you been doing this? Is there any pain?

    I’m looking forward to your feedback.

    Thanks

    • thegymmonkey

      Thanks Chris, however it’s not my video, I just found it on YouTube and it happens to contain all the exercises I’m doing.

      The shoulders are responding well. The improvements are small, but consistent week on week. What I have found is that the recovery is very important. So I do the shoulder workout every third day, this seems to be working well for me at the moment and I’m able to increase either the number of reps or the weight by small increments on each session.

      To be frank the shoulders pretty much hurt all the time. But I do know that this is because I’m pushing them has hard as I dare. The good news is it’s a good kind of soreness if that makes sense! i.e. it’s the sort of feeling I would get in the tendons and muscles if I exercised any body part. As opposed to what I was getting six weeks ago when any exercise made the tendons swell up and become tender for days and days, so that I really couldn’t do anything with them.

      I had a week of skiing a little a couple of weeks ago and didn’t do anything for the shoulders at all that week and nearly all the pain went away. If I wasn’t trying to get back to my sport as quickly as possible, I think I could do these exercises maybe once a week or so and that I’d have almost no pain day to day and they would recover nicely over the next 6 – 9 months.

      I’ll try and find something on the stretches I’m doing to put up, because that’s the other side of the equation. At the moment the pecks and the front of the deltoids are really stiff (For example I can’t physically get into the Shoulder Press machine at the gym, because I can’t get my arms back far enough.). So lots and lots of gentle stretching right now, which is also making slow but steady progress.

  • Chris Melton

    It sounds like your program is working well. The difficulty for me ( and many others, I’m sure ) has always been restraint. My shoulders start to feel better and rather than continue what has been working, I tend to want to jump right back into a “full – blown” strength program

    I like your approach.

Leave a Reply

